“Teddy” – Update

It’s hard to believe that it’s been a year since “Room 108” was self-published on Kindle.  Some of my friends have been reaching out asking about new material.  One even asked me to name a character after her.  I will.  All of this is extremely flattering and I feel like I’ve been letting people down.

A short update on “Teddy”: I’ve been working away on this for a year.  What started as a short story last summer turned into a novella this last month.  And while I thought I had an end in sight, the characters kept developing and the story line kept going.  Some times these things take on a life of their own and I just try to keep up.

It is a ghost story.  Not to divulge too much, but it is a story about a young couple with a toddler.  As the title indicates, the new and unexplained presence of a teddy bear begins to cause some unrest in the family.  That’s all I can say 😉

And all those other short stories in my head are still hanging out and fermenting. But all my time as been devoted to “Teddy”.  They’ll come when I have time.

On a side note, I recently came across a poem I wrote ten years.  I had submitted it then to the Paris Review and proudly told one of my literary friends.  He laughed and said good luck, they only publish poems by established poets.  Sure enough, I got a rejection slip in the mail.  Last month I re-submitted to it a small webzine that specializes in poetry. A month later, I got another rejection letter.  I promptly re-submitted it.  It’s still being reviewed. I’m not perturbed.  Poems are really hard to get published. I even tweaked this one a little because it was a little melodramatic.

I often look back at who I used to be and smile. I wish I knew then what I know now.

 

Leave a comment